3 Lessons I learned from a Senior Developer

3 Lessons I learned from a Senior Developer

A few days back I had a late night conversation with a Senior Developer, and the chat went on for a while and he shared with me a few advices that can help me not just survive but thrive in my career.

So I've decided to share top 3 of the advices which I believe can have a positive impact on your life and career,

Take Risk

The number one advice he gave me was to take risks, whenever presented with a challenge accept it, because that's where your growth lies. Challenges are nothing but opportunities in wolf's clothing, when you accept the challenge you grab the opportunity for growth and success. So next time when your team lead asks you to do this or that you are not familiar with, take the risk, learn the stuff and get it done.

Explore

Don't stick to one tech, or one framework or one end, always keep exploring. Learn different things, if you're doing frontend leave your comfort zone and start exploring the world of backend, cloud, infrastructure and never stop learning. The sure way to get extinct is to stop learning.

Learn to deal with people

This is the most important advice he dropped, learn to deal with people. When working as a developer, you may have to communicate with the UX/UI or the QA, or even sometimes you may have to explain why you couldn't fix that bug or why you couldn't deliver a certain task on time. If you want to thrive in your career, good communication and people skills is mission critical. You can't just always sit there and code.

If you've read this far, let me know in the comments what advices you received from your team lead or senior that has stayed with you throughout your journey. Peace.